25
Oct
11

A cry for help!

My first piece for the Magic: the Gathering Online game.

Maybe someone out there can help me out with this piece. What we have here is the first image that Wizards asked me to do for their online Magic game. Since it was to be used in a digital format, I received no white-backed, artist proof cards as samples of the printed card and of course, none of these cards have arrived in the mail to be autographed. So I’m wondering what this image was used on or if it WAS ever used….? Does anyone recognize this and if so is it possible to do a screen save of it and send it over so I could get a peek at the final product?
As always, thanks for looking!

2 Responses to “A cry for help!”


  1. October 25, 2011 at 4:13 am

    Hi Ron,

    It was used for a Spirit token in the Masters Edition II (reprint) set. The card that created it is “Broken Visage”. The token looks a little something like this:

    Sorry there is no artist attribution on that rendering. I created it when the image appeared in Magic Online, before it was clear who the artist was. And even though you are my favourite MTG artist, I have to say I didn’t recognise this as your work.

    • 2 ronspencer
      October 25, 2011 at 11:45 pm

      Many, many thanks, Michael !!
      So, this is how the image was used.
      This piece WAS a departure from my usual palate. As I recall, the art description asked for a shattered SHADOW, not a spirit. Hence the featureless silhouette creature and limited color scheme.
      At any rate, the deadline was met and the check got cashed. Done deal !
      Watch for more “Cry for Help” posts in the future. Nearly all of the Magic art that I’ve done in the last couple of years has been used in the online game. Too bad, it doesn’t seem to be seen by nearly as many people.
      Again, please accept my sincerest thanks and appreciation for your help on this one!
      And thanks for looking!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

October 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

